[meteorite-list] NASA Scientists and Engineers Receive Presidential Early Career Awards

From: Ron Baalke <baalke_at_meteoritecentral.com>
Date: Mon, 23 Jul 2012 12:49:33 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID: <201207231949.q6NJnXv3017876_at_zagami.jpl.nasa.gov>

July 23, 2012

Sarah DeWitt
Headquarters, Washington
sarah.l.dewitt at nasa.gov

RELEASE: 12-251


WASHINGTON -- President Obama has named six NASA individuals as
recipients of the 2011 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists
and Engineers (PECASE). The NASA recipients and 90 other federal
researchers will receive their awards in a ceremony later this month
in Washington.

The PECASE awards represent the highest honor bestowed by the U.S.
government on scientists and engineers beginning their independent
careers. They recognize recipients' exceptional potential for
leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge, and their
commitment to community service as demonstrated through professional
leadership, education or community outreach.

"These talented individuals have already made significant
contributions to the agency's mission at this early stage in their
careers," said NASA Chief Scientist Waleed Abdalati. "We look forward
to celebrating their continued success for many years to come."

The 2011 NASA recipients were nominated by the agency's Science
Mission Directorate, Office of the Chief Engineer, and Office of the
Chief Technologist:

- Morgan B. Abney, NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville,
Ala., recognized for innovative technical leadership in advancing
technologies for recovering oxygen from carbon dioxide for
self-sustaining human space exploration.

- Ian Gauld Clark, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory and California
Institute of Technology in Pasadena, Calif., recognized for
exceptional leadership and achievement in the pursuit of advanced
entry, descent and landing technologies and techniques for space
exploration missions.

- Temilola Fatoyinbo-Agueh, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in
Greenbelt, Md., recognized for exceptional achievement in merging
scientific priorities with advanced technology to develop innovative
remote-sensing instrumentation for carbon-cycle and ecosystems

- Jessica E. Koehne, NASA's Ames Research Center in Moffett Field,
Calif., recognized for exceptional dedication to the development of
nano-bio sensing systems for NASA mission needs.

- Francis M. McCubbin, Institute of Meteoritics, University of New
Mexico in Albuquerque, N.M., recognized for studies of the
geochemical role of water and other volatiles in extraterrestrial
materials from the inner solar system.

- Yuri Y. Shprits, University of California, Los Angeles, recognized
for early-career leadership and innovative research and modeling in
the realm of the Earth's Van Allen radiation belts.

The PECASE awards were created to foster innovative developments in
science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and
engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of
participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental
research and many of the grand challenges facing the nation, and
highlight the importance of science and technology for America's
future. Eleven federal departments and agencies nominated scientists
and engineers for the 2011 PECASE awards. For a complete list of 2011
award winners, visit:


For information about NASA and agency programs, visit:

Received on Mon 23 Jul 2012 03:49:33 PM PDT

Help support this free mailing list:

Yahoo MyWeb